Rose Gold and Cupcakes: My Bridal Shower by the Sea

 

rose gold and cupcakes 5.3.14

It has become a bit of a family tradition (whether she likes it or not) to have all of our important life-event celebrations at my Aunt Betsy’s stunning seaside house in Kittery, Maine.  My sister’s thirtieth surprise birthday weekend, various cousin’s bridal showers, baby showers, you name it. They always involve lots of freshly caught Maine lobster and they happen at Aunt Betsy’s. There is something about being at the remote seaside location, nestled right on the edge of a point in a quiet inlet of ocean water that always feels like a special occasion.  These events, though startling markers of how fast time is passing, are also comforting reminders that some things can stay the same.

So as the youngest of all of my female cousins, the last one to marry and my wedding date rapidly approaching, I couldn’t help but dream of having my bridal shower at the seaside location too.  My future husband proposed to me about a year ago with a rose gold ring and it’s pretty color has informed all of my visions for our wedding. My cousin Ty and my sister went with this idea and  created a beautiful rose-gold themed bridal shower for me. Everything from the gold sugar crusted flutes of pink champagne, to the caught-day-of  lobster, shrimp and delicious lemon butter cream cupcakes from Cote’s Cupcakes in Eliot, ME,  matched the theme.  I couldn’t have imagined a more beautiful and delicious day!

Fresh Maine Shrimp Cocktail

Fresh Maine Shrimp Cocktail

 

 

My sweet sister

My Sweet Sister

 

flowers and Liz 5.3.14

 

lobster salad for lobster rolls

lobster salad for lobster rolls

Fresh Maine Lobster Rolls

Fresh Maine Lobster Rolls

 Maine Lobster Rolls

serves 4

1/2 pound fully cooked lobster meat
1/4 cup mayonnaise
Kosher or sea salt
Freshly ground pepper
4 New England-style hot dog bunsIn a large bowl, mix the lobster meat with the mayonnaise and season with salt and pepper.  Stuff the buns with lobster meat and serve.

pink cupcake 3 5.3.14

pink sparkly 5.3.14

 

lemon cupcakes with rose-colored butter cream frosting

lemon cupcakes with rose-colored butter cream frosting from Cote’s Cakes in Eliot, ME

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

