Jelly in a Jam: Homemade Guava Jam

Now would certainly not be an appropriate time to criticize the weather here in Los Angeles. And though my aversion to the seemingly endless California “summer” (it’s almost November) of scorching heat leads me to a deep longing for foliage and the brisk and blustery transition into winter in the Northeast, now is not the time for such nostalgia. This week I watched from afar as a storm of epic proportions bore down on my  former home, the magnificent city of New York. And as friends, family and loved ones all over the Northeast sent me pictures of a grey daunting sky and updates as the wind picked up and the power  went out, I couldn’t help feeling a bit guilty for not being there, for looking out my window to see a clear blue sky above swaying palm trees and the Hollywood sign. When I explained this guilty feeling to a California friend, she replied, “You’ll get back at them with an earthquake soon.”

Since I can’t be on the east coast to help, I can begin by being grateful for where I am. And what California lacks in dramatic seasonal weather changes, it makes up for in produce. And that is one thing, without a doubt, I love about California. Every fall our house gets overrun with smell of guavas. Our neighbor’s Javier and Lucina’s tree outside our front door fruits so many of  the little round tropical treats that many of them fall to the ground and squish beneath our feet. One year during my birthday party an inebriated chef friend was so excited to “discover” the tree that he packed many handfuls into his pockets. Rumor has it that he drunkenly absconded with so many guavas he woke up in his bed the next day surrounded by a sea of the sticky fruits. This year, I grew  tired of seeing them go to waste. So I made guava jam. It’s delicious, much easier than I expected and seems like a good thing to have on hand if there’s an earthquake.

Stay safe east coast!

Lots of Love,

Heather

Guava Jam

Yields 12 oz

  • 3 cups guavas, peeled and chopped
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 limes, juiced
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Place all of the ingredients in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 30 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool. Pour mixture through a fine mesh sieve to separate our the seeds. Using a large spoon, press down on the solids to release the juices. Return the now seedless mixture back to the saucepan and return to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and let simmer for 40 minutes or until thickened. Remove from heat and let cool. Pour into jars and refrigerate until use. The jam will thicken as it cools.

3 Comments

Filed under Fall, Gluten-free, Heather Platt, In Season, Vegan, Vegetarian

3 responses to “Jelly in a Jam: Homemade Guava Jam

  1. Pingback: Hawaiian Holiday Recipes - Maui Bloggers Zone

  2. kitty

    My mommy makes it just like you. So, that is how I know this is good. Tip: Guava jelly tastes delicious on saltines.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jenny

    Yumm!! will we get a tasting at thanksgiving??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

