Happy Mother’s Day Mom! Whole Wheat Buttermilk Waffles with Carmelized Bananas


Every year on Mother’s Day when I was a kid, we would make breakfast in bed for my mom. I remember sitting on the counter next to the stove while my dad showed me with an engineer’s precision how to make perfectly scrambled eggs. I loved setting up the pretty tray for her with butter  and jam and a hot cup of coffee. And I was always giddy with excitement to wake her up and show her what we had made.

I called my mom a few days ago to ask what her favorite thing is to have for breakfast. You would think that after almost thirty years you would know that sort of thing about your mother, but I honestly couldn’t think of one particular breakfast food that I knew  she would like above all else. The sad part was that when I asked her she said hopefully, “Are you going to be here?!” My mother lives in Florida and I live in California.

“No.” I replied sadly. “But I’m going to make you breakfast anyway.”

“I love waffles with fruit.” She said.

“Really?” I had never heard this from her before. But waffles are delicious so I understand. And is there a better way to serve them than on my mother’s beautiful handcrafted pottery topped with carmelized bananas? No.

Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

Heather

Whole Wheat Buttermilk Waffles with Carmelized Bananas

  • 2 cups white whole wheat  flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cardamom
  • 2 cups well-shaken buttermilk
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, divided
  • 2 large eggs
  • Cooking spray for waffle iron
  • 1 firm-ripe large bananas, cut crosswise into 1/3-inch-thick slices
  •  1/4 cup pure maple syrup

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cardamom.

Melt 6 six tablespoons of the butter and let cool to room temperature.

Whisk together buttermilk, melted butter, and eggs in another bowl, then whisk into flour mixture until just combined.

Turn on waffle iron to medium heat and spray with cooking spray. Pour a 1/3 cup (amount may vary depending on the size and shape of your waffle iron) of batter into the center of the waffle iron. Cook waffles until golden and cooked through. Most waffle irons will have a light or an alarm to let you know when they are done. Using tongs, transfer waffles to plate. You may  keep them warm in the oven preheated to 250 degrees if desired

Meanwhile heat remaining butter in a 12-inch heavy skillet over medium-high heat until foaming. Then add the banana slices in 1 layer and using tongs flip the over, after about 1 minute. Remove the pan from heat and add syrup to skillet.

Spoon bananas over waffles, then drizzle with warm syrup from the pan before serving.

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Brunch, Heather Platt

6 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day Mom! Whole Wheat Buttermilk Waffles with Carmelized Bananas

  1. Meagan

    Yum! Zeh has been craving waffles for weeks now. I may just have to try whipping up a batch of these. By the way, I cried a little when I read this post.

    Like

  2. bobbie platt

    Ahhh…Sweet enough to travel to California to breakfast with the
    chef. Delightful I will now hand the recipe over to Dad.
    Thank you, Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

