Sweet Valentine’s: I Love You Carrot Cupcakes

Nothing says ‘I love you’ more than a carrot cupcake.  So when three of the loves-of-my-life, my high school best friends, Lauren, Meagan and Kyla, were on their way to Los Angeles to visit me for the weekend, I decided to make a batch of cupcakes to express my adoration for them.

I love carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. And so for many years I was known to bake a carrot layer cake at my parents house to fill my time during vacations at home. I developed a reputation for this. And now every time I go home my 90-year-old grandma Nana asks my parents if I’m going to be making a carrot cake this visit.

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I frosted some in the shape of a heart. For the rest, I spread liberal amounts of the maple cream cheese frosting and decorated them with chopped walnuts and finely shredded carrots. These toppings worked out nicely as decorative food coloring alternatives.

Enjoy!

Heather

Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

Yields 12 Cupcakes

  • 1 cup fine baking sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons fresh blood orange juice
  • 1/2 cup vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 6 large carrots
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  In a food processor, grate carrots until finely shredded. In a large bowl, combine the sugar, oil, blood orange juice, vanilla and eggs. Add the baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and kosher salt. Stir in the flour until smooth and combined. Stir in 1 1/2  cups shredded carrots  and 1/2 cup walnuts and reserve the rest for decoration.

Fill a muffin tin with paper muffin liners and pour approximately 1/3 cup batter into each muffin cup. Place in oven and bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of muffin comes out clean, approximately 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool before frosting.

Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 3/4 confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon Vermont maple syrup

In a large bowl, whisk together cream cheese, confectioner’s sugar, vanilla extract, and maple syrup until combined and smooth.

Frost Cupcakes: Spoon frosting in to clean kechup container and frost in heart shapes or as desired. Sprinkle with walnuts and carrots.

14 Comments

Filed under Cake, Dessert, Heather Platt, Vegetarian

14 responses to “Sweet Valentine’s: I Love You Carrot Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Eat, Drink, and Be Thankful: Thanksgiving Menu 2011 | Three More Big Bites

  2. Pingback: Made By Request: Carrot Cupcakes with Marscapone Frosting (Gluten-Free) | Three More Big Bites

  3. I still remember the first time I came to Montreal and they offered me carrot muffin, I was totally shocked for a veggie muffin…… and I don’t like carrots……even the baby ones…… but cupcake is one of my favorite desserts, especially the chocolate ones.
    Check the chocolate and avocado cupcake recipe(i know it sounds weird but try it!!!)
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes/desserts-a-goodies-/chocolate-avocado-cupcakes-with-avocado-buttercream-frosting
    It’s really good.

    Like

  4. those look mouth watering delicious!

    Like

  5. bobbie platt

    Ahhh wish I could enjoy those cupcakes and the wonderful company you have this weekend, Heather. Seems like yesterday all these young ladies were making plans for sleepovers and long chats through the night. Love to all. Bobbie.

    Like

  6. You are the cutest!! Happy v day!

    Like

  7. Meagan

    These were so delicious! You girls will always be my special Valentines. I am so lucky!

    Like

  8. Kyla

    The cupcakes were mind-blowing…and so was the visit! I love my girls!

    Like

  9. HP

    I wish you were here too Sissy! Everyone says hi and we miss you too!

    Like

  10. Jenny

    Looks scrumptious- the cupcakes, and all of you! Miss you girls! Xoxo Jenny

    Like

Leave a Reply

