Chef’s Recipe: Arugula Salad with Dates, Oranges, Almonds and Parmesan

This is not my recipe. The internet hasn’t been working in my apartment during the last few weeks. So instead of scouring the web for culinary inspiration I’ve found myself reading my cookbook collection from cover to cover.  This recipe is  based on one from Sunday Suppers at Lucques. (Suzanne Goin’s restaurant here in Los Angeles where I work as a hostess.) Like everything else in the book, it’s delicious and stunningly beautiful, but  I’m sharing this particular recipe  because it’s stunningly simple and easy. It’s all about the ingredients and the way they perfectly compliment each other. I want to bring it to everyone’s attention who loves a fancy salad but doesn’t want to have to spend too much time slaving over it. Suzanne’s recipe is intended to be made with  market fresh blood oranges, deglet Noor dates, and pure almond oil. As you’ll see, I used a regular orange, Medjool dates, and olive oil. I recommend sticking to the original, but mine turned out pretty delicious too.

Enjoy!

Heather

Arugula Salad with Dates, Almonds, Oranges, and Parmesan

Serves 3

  • 1/2 cup raw almonds
  • 6 Medjool dates, pitted halved or quarted lengthwise
  • 2 large oranges, peels removed with knife and sliced into pinwheels
  • 1/8 pound parmesan-reggiano, shaved into thin slices
  • 2 ounces arugula
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • fleur de sel and cracked black pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Toast almonds until fragrant, about 8 minutes. Place arugula on salad plates and carefully layer parmesan, oranges, and dates. Sprinkle evenly with almonds. Drizzle with olive oil and a squeeze of orange juice. Season lightly with fleur de sel and freshly cracked black pepper.

5 Comments

Filed under Gluten-free, Heather Platt, In Season, Salad, Winter

5 responses to “Chef’s Recipe: Arugula Salad with Dates, Oranges, Almonds and Parmesan

  1. hey, I have that book, too! a special friend gave me a copy, signed by one Suzanne Goin, for my birthday this year…

    I’m excited to dig into mine! love xx

    Like

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Chef’s Recipe: Arugula Salad with Dates, Oranges, Almonds and Parmesan | Three More Big Bites -- Topsy.com

  3. I love that we get to see pics of you two cuties!! You are my inspiration!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

