Danger Dogs with a Bowtie: Bacon-Wrapped Pork Tenderloin

As much as I love a nice civilized sit-down dinner with flatware, stemware and utensils, there’s nothing quite as satisfying and exciting as late-night street food when you’re really hungry and as my dad would say, “Three sheets to the wind.” When I lived in New York, the go-to grub after a long night out-on-the town was (of course) a hot slice of pizza. During my college semester in Paris, it was a warm crepe with Nutella and banana. Here in Los Angeles, one might argue that tacos are the late-night food of choice.

But on a Friday night last week after a show at the Echo with Anna, drinks at El Prado with friends and a failed attempt to covertly photograph a guy with a side-mullet, I found myself standing on Sunset Boulevard seduced by the wafting grilled-porky smell of what I know as the Danger Dog: the classic hot dog generously wrapped in bacon, grilled right before your eyes and served to you in a toasted bun with peppers and onions. It’s dangerously awesome and delicious. I’m assuming the danger part comes from the fact that with street food you run the risk of…well, gastro-intestinal distress? Or that it looks like a heart attack in a bun. But the best things in life always involve a little bit of risk. And as I happily gobbled down my worth-the-danger dog, I contemplated a more upscale version of the treat. Bacon-wrapped pork tenderloin it is!

Enjoy!

Heather

 

Mmmm... Danger Danger

Bacon-Wrapped Pork Tenderloin with Roasted Red Onions

Serves 6

  • 1 head of garlic, top cut off
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 pork tenderloins ( 1 to 1 1/2 lbs each)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme
  • 10 slices Applewood smoked bacon
  • 2 red onions, cut into eighths

Preheat oven to 300 F. Place garlic in small oven proof dish with oil. Cover with aluminum foil and roast for 45 minutes until garlic is fragrant and soft. Let cool and remove garlic from it’s peel.

Prepare the tenderloins by rubbing them liberally with garlic. Once they have been evenly slathered with garlic, rub with salt, pepper, and fresh thyme. Wrap the strips of bacon around the tenderloins.

Heat oven to 400 F.

Heat a heavy cast iron skillet over medium-high heat for approximately 4 minutes. When pan is hot, add bacon-wrapped tenderloins and surround with onions in pan . Sear tenderloins on all sides until browned, approximately 3 minutes per side. Transfer pan to oven and roast for 20 minutes for medium well. Transfer tenderloins to cutting board and let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

13 Comments

Filed under Gluten-free, Heather Platt, Main Course, Meat, Uncategorized

13 responses to “Danger Dogs with a Bowtie: Bacon-Wrapped Pork Tenderloin

  1. That looks really good, I love bacons!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Let me just say I love just about ANYTHING with bacon wrapped around it. I will definitely try this recipe.. thanx

    Like

  3. Looks delicious. I think I would make a meal of the onions first and then the meat. I would like to try this recipe. Thanks and I will bookmark your blog.

    Like

  4. Tess

    Wow, I love this post! The recipe is so yummy looking and the back-story so cute! And relatable 🙂

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Like

  5. Meagan

    Whoa, this looks amazing… only you you can turn a silly hot-dog & bacon dish into something splendid!

    Like

  6. Charles

    As a bacon connoisseur, I tip my hat to you. You’ve inspired me to replicate this recipe. I think I’ll try it on the grill, slow smoked at a low temperature with some pecan wood chips.

    Like

  7. mmm..I love Bacon Wrapped Hot dogs!! You are turning “so” LA. Miss you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

