For Love or Pot de Crème? Morgan’s Pot de Crème

Due to our mutual obsession with French cooking and delicious cheese, my friend Morgan and I had been talking about making a decadent French meal together for awhile.  Morgan is in a French band and spends a lot of time in France making her, in my eyes, pretty much a French woman.  Which is something I obviously admire and covet.

“I can make a pretty decent pot de crème.” she said with her flawless French accent as we drove to the grocery store and brainstormed what to make for dinner. Let’s just say she was being modest. They were perfect. Morgan got engaged last Sunday, so our dinner was also to celebrate this with her fiancee. And as the three of us delicately made our way through our individual pots de crème for dessert, I lifted my glass to her fiancée and said “Congratulations! You’re marrying a woman who made this!”   I realized that perhaps that was something he’d already happily considered about his future spouse. All I know is that the leftover ones in my fridge seem to be talking to me all day “Eat me Heather! Eaaaaat Me!!” Ok, fine. I will.

Enjoy!

Heather

Morgan’s Pot de Crème

Serves 6

  • 2 cups chilled heavy cream
  • 4 large egg yolks
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 7 oz fine-quality bittersweet chocolate (not unsweetened), chopped (I used about 6 ounces yesterday because I used 75% cacao)
Heat 3/4 cup cream in a 1-quart heavy saucepan until hot. Whisk together yolks, sugar, and a pinch of salt in a metal bowl until combined well, then add hot cream in a slow stream, whisking until combined. Transfer mixture to saucepan and cook over moderately low heat, stirring constantly, until it registers 160°F on thermometer. (to be safe, but i usually just check with my finger…)
Pour custard through a fine-mesh sieve into a bowl and stir in vanilla.
Melt chocolate in a double boiler or a metal bowl set over a pan of simmering water, stirring frequently. Whisk custard into chocolate until smooth, then cool.
Beat remaining 1 1/4 cups cream in a bowl with an electric mixer until it just holds stiff peaks. Whisk one fourth of cream into chocolate custard to lighten, then fold in remaining cream gently but thoroughly.
Spoon mousse into stemmed glasses or ramekins and chill, covered.  Let stand at room temperature about 20 minutes before serving.  Garnish with as many raspberries as possible!!!!
Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert, Gluten-free, Heather Platt, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

