Dinner with Parents and Friends: Pork Tenderloin with Tart Cherry, Port, and Caraway Sauce

When I found out that my parents were coming to LA to visit me for the first time since I moved here two years ago, I thought, what a perfect excuse for a dinner party! This way my parents could meet my friends here, see first-hand what I do with most of my time (cook), and we could share it all with the blog! I’ve become pretty experienced in the art of cooking for eight or more guests. And one thing I’ve learned is that there’s nothing better for a large party than a big-old roast of meat. That is, if your guests aren’t all vegetarians and you have the day, or at least the afternoon to prepare for it. In honor of my father’s request, I made pork tenderloin.

Since I was lucky enough to have the whole day to prep and my mom to sous-chef, I decided on a menu of market lettuce salad with lemon-avocado dressing, sautéed beets with green beans and lemon, goat cheese potato gratin, pork tenderloin with tart cherry, port and caraway sauce and for dessert  Anna’s perfect strawberry-peach shortcake. This pork recipe is doubled from the original version from Gourmet July 1997, so two separate pans will be necessary to hold all of the meat. Take advantage of this recipe before cherry season ends! It was a huge hit so stay tuned for the other recipes!

Enjoy!

Heather

Pork Tenderloin with Tart Cherry, Port, and Caraway Sauce

Serves 12

  • 2 large onions
  • 4 pounds boneless pork tenderloin
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup Tawny Port
  • 1/2 cup fresh orange juice
  • 3 teaspoons red-wine vinegar, or to taste
  • 4 cups fresh pitted tart cherries
  • 1 teaspoon caraway seeds

Preheat oven to 425° F.

Coarsely chop onion. Pat pork dry and season with salt and pepper. In two ovenproof large heavy skillets heat oil over moderately high heat until hot, but not smoking, and brown pork. Transfer pork with tongs to a plate and in oil remaining in skillets cook onion over moderate heat, stirring, until golden. Add Port, orange juice, and vinegar and simmer, stirring, 2 minutes. Add fresh cherries, caraway seeds, pork, and any juices that have accumulated on plate and bring to a boil.

Transfer skillets to middle of oven and roast pork 30 minutes, or until a meat thermometer registers 155° F. Transfer pork  with tongs to a cutting board and let stand, loosely covered with foil, 10 minutes.

While pork is standing, simmer sauce, stirring, until slightly thickened and reduced to about 1 1/2 cups. Cut pork into 1/2-inch-thick slices and spoon sauce over it.

[rockyou id=157799918&w=500&h=375]

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten-free, Heather Platt, Main Course, Meat

Leave a Reply

