Fancy Food Made Easy; Part One: Oven-Roasted Heirloom Potato Truffle Fries

When I lived in New York, my sister and I used to love going out to eat together so much that we even came up with a secret name for our special sister nights out together. She lived uptown where she worked rigorous hours training to be a doctor of the utmost importance and I lived downtown doing who-knows-what. Despite our different lives we would meet up every couple of weeks somewhere in the city to catch up and excite our taste buds. One time when I asked my sister what type of cuisine the restaurant she had picked to dine at served, she replied “You know it’s like…fancy food.”

Well, nothing says “fancy” quite like truffle oil.  So when I came home with a beautiful bag of tri-colored heirloom potatoes to serve with lamb rib chops with cherry sauce and butter lettuce salad with green goddess dressing, (Stay tuned for those must-make recipes) I wanted to cook them up without losing their beautiful natural shapes and colors. Since I had a bit of truffle oil in my pantry, I opted to make oven-roasted truffle fries. When we sat down to eat this meal, we ended up dipping the fries in the green goddess dressing. I highly recommend it.

Enjoy!

Heather

Oven-Roasted Heirloom Potato Truffle Fries

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 2 pounds unpeeled purple, pink and yellow heirloom potatoes, cleaned, cut lengthwise into 1/2- to 1/3-inch wedges
  • 1 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon truffle oil

Preheat oven to 450°F. Spray large rimmed baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray. Use your hands to toss potato wedges with canola oil and truffle oil in large bowl. Sprinkle potato wedges generously and evenly with salt and pepper; spread in single layer on prepared baking sheet. Roast potato wedges until tender and brown in spots,  about 35 minutes. Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste and serve.

2 Comments

Filed under Gluten-free, Heather Platt, Side, Super Bowl, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Fancy Food Made Easy; Part One: Oven-Roasted Heirloom Potato Truffle Fries

  1. Pingback: Super Bowl Specials: Cornbread and More! | Three More Big Bites

  2. Jenny

    Fancy Food!! My favorite kind 🙂 This post totally cracked me up.

    I miss you, Sissy, and our special nights… I am merely living vicariously your culinary life from afar!

    Like

Leave a Reply

