If I Were a Rich Soup: Moroccan Carrot Soup

After Heather and I spent a dusty and hot weekend at the Coachella Valley Music Festival, where we subsisted on bananas, Kogi BBQ spicy pork tacos, and indie rock, I was more than ready to make an easy dinner tonight.

I was craving something flavorful and healthy, and then I remembered that I had bookmarked one of Mark Bittman’s The Minimalist recipes for an “easy” chicken and apricot tagine last week. (Though it’s not hard to remember when the recipe continues to pop up every time I open my web browser!)

It wasn’t until after I bought the ingredients for the tagine (stay tuned for that dish tomorrow) and invited my neighbors Margie and Brendan over that I realized I should probably serve the main course with something. Uh… But what?

Through the post-Coachella fog, I chose a simple Moroccan carrot soup from Bon Appétit. Not only did this soup have a surprising and deep smoky flavor, it tastes a million times richer and more complex than the short and seriously healthy list of ingredients would suggest.

I used a rough tablespoon of organic European-style plain yogurt and a pinch of toasted cumin as garnish per serving, and it was absolutely perfect. I will be making this again and again this spring.

Take a bite.

Anna

Moroccan Carrot Soup

Serves 3

  • 2 tbsp. (1/4 stick) butter
  • 1 cup chopped white onion
  • 1 pound large carrots, peeled, cut into 1/2-inch dice (about 2 2/3 cups)
  • 2 1/2 cups low-salt chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/8 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt, stirred to mix

In a large saucepan, melt butter over medium-high heat. Sauté onion until soft. Add carrots, and sauté 2 more minutes. Add chicken broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer about 20 minutes until carrots are soft.

Toast cumin in small pan until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes at high heat. Purée soup in a blender in batches, or use a blender stick, until smooth. Whisk in honey, lemon juice, ½ tsp. cumin, allspice, and salt and pepper to taste. (I used a salted chicken stock, so I added very little salt at this stage.)

Ladle soup into bowls, drizzle with yogurt, and sprinkle with remaining cumin.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

