Holy Mole! A Bite-Sized Take on Lara Bars

Holy Mole (chocolate and chile) Anna Bites!

I don’t believe in “energy” bars. I think they’re mostly candy in health-food clothing. But I love me some LaraBars. Here’s why:

1) Each one has about five or six raw ingredients. 2) They have just enough oomph to hold you over when you’re starving without being too substantial. 3) They’re easy to travel with. I live off these on the road, where healthy options are hard to find. 4) They taste good, especially if you like nuts and fruit and chocolate. Which I do. 5) They’re raw. Enough said.

Inspired by my love for these, the most perfect of snacks, I made my very own Anna Bites. I based one on my favorite Lara Bar flavor which I can never seem to find anymore, Cocoa Mole, and I based one on another favorite flavor combination of mine: chocolate, coconut, and sea salt. (Holy moly! I already ate too many of them!)

I pressed my Anna Bites into a tablespoon measure to make pretty little domes, but feel free to press yours into a pan and slice them into bars, or mold them into whatever shape appeals to you. You can’t go wrong here.

And best of all? These took about 10 minutes to make, start to finish. Now, that’s my kind of cooking.

Enjoy!

xx

Anna

Chile powder gives the Holy Mole bites a kick!

Holy Mole Anna Bites

  • 1/3 cup pitted dried Medjool dates
  • 1/3 cup raw almonds
  • 1/4 cup raw pecans
  • 3 heaping tbsp. of cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. chile powder
  • 1 generous pinch salt
  • splash of water if needed (1-2 tbsp.)

In a blender, pulse all of the above until mixture resembles coarse meal. Scrape out mixture into a bowl and give it a rough mix to make sure flavors are combined. Lightly oil a tablespoon measure and your hand. Shape “dough” into balls and pack them into the spoon. Tap the spoon out to loosen the bites. Store in an air-tight container at room temperature or refrigerate for a longer shelf life.

Makes 8 bites.

Chocolate, Sea Salt, and Coconut Anna Bites

  • 1/3 cup pitted Medjool dates
  • 1/3 cup raw almonds
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 3 heaping tbsp. of cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • splash of water if needed (1-2 tbsp.)

Same directions as above. Enjoy!

I pressed a macadamia nut into the top of each coconut Anna Bite.

9 Comments

Filed under Anna Bulbrook, Breakfast, Dessert, Gluten-free, Vegetarian

9 responses to “Holy Mole! A Bite-Sized Take on Lara Bars

  1. Pingback: Product Review: In Praise of LÄRABAR, Post Cocoa Mole | The World's Healthiest Foods - Healthy Eating

  2. A friend pointed me in your direction, because Cocoa Mole was the greatest Larabar that ever existed – I loved it so much I wrote a song about it. They discontinued the flavor last fall, which was nothing short of devastating – but I’m definitely going to try this recipe. Larabar forever!

    Like

  3. Michaela

    I just made these, and they are wonderful! I kinda improvised and used dried apricots and cranberries instead of the dates because I didn’t have any dates, but they are still amazing, and I plan on buying the dates and trying them the right way soon!

    Like

    • HP

      yes! that’s the whole idea: to use whatever combination of nuts, dried fruit, and spices taste good to you and make your own flavors. sounds delicious!

      xx Anna

      Like

  4. chevyblue

    the snack bites sound so yummy — will have to try some for my too-early museum mornings — m

    Like

  5. HP

    Anna! These look awesome. I don’t believe in “energy” bars either. (I went through a Balance Bar phase once, ew!) But making them at home is the perfect way to avoid candy disguised as health food. I’m sure they taste even better too! Great job!

    Like

  6. Great idea! I like Lara Bars, too. I’d love to try this recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

