Whole Foods Salad Cravings: Israeli Couscous Salad with Pecans and Cranberries

Lunch, for me (and I assume most people) is one of those meals that usually needs to be squeezed in quickly and conveniently into the day. Whether it’s after a workout, between auditions, before  a meeting or at my desk while blogging, it’s not a meal for which I usually have a lot of time to luxuriate.  It’s also a meal that should be healthy, balanced and satisfying enough to get you through the rest of your important day. One of my favorite quick lunch-on-the-go options is the always delicious and super healthy Whole Foods salad bar.  I find myself craving it often but only occasionally close enough to one to rationalize going. I feel pretty sorry for myself that I don’t live within a mile of a Whole Foods. But then it got me thinking about what exactly I was craving…and could I make it at home? That wonderful Israeli couscous salad with cranberries and pecans came to mind. I Googled it and found I wasn’t alone. Many others have sought to replicate the salad bar favorite. So I made it at home, omitting the ingredients that I did not have on hand. I made a lot and served it as a side with my  Cornish game hens. The leftovers were a terrific no-need-to-fight-for-a-parking-spot-at-Whole-Foods lunch meal served with fresh baby spinach.

Enjoy!

Heather

Israeli Couscous Salad with Cranberries and Pecans

Serves 6

For salad:

  • 1.5 cups Israeli couscous, uncooked
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup toasted pecans, toasted and broken into halves and quarters
  • 3 scallions, finely sliced

For dressing:

  • 2 tbsp grape seed oil
  • 1.5 tbsp champagne vinegar
  • 1 orange, zest
  • 1/2 orange, juiced
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil, and add the couscous and let cook for about 9 minutes. Drain it but do not rinse.

In a small bowl, whisk together the grape seed oil, vinegar, orange zest and juice, spices and salt and pepper.

In a large bowl stir together couscous, cranberries, pecans and scallions. Add the dressing and combine well.

Serve or chill in the fridge for a while to blend the flavors.


3 Comments

Filed under Heather Platt, Side

3 responses to “Whole Foods Salad Cravings: Israeli Couscous Salad with Pecans and Cranberries

  1. joanna

    HI. I too love this and noticed they added portabello mushroom and eggplant to it so I chop them w/ the onion and cook it and add that into the salad. They also add some mint to theirs. I’ve been able to make it almost exactly the same doing this.

    Like

  2. jenny

    This looks really yummy. i have to try this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

