Countdown to Thanksgiving T-Minus 2 Days: Thomas Keller’s Leek Bread Pudding

I’ll admit it: I’m a sucker for any recipe with a fancy chef’s name attached. And now that I think about it, I’m a sucker for bread pudding of any kind, sweet or savory. And, I love leeks. I think it’s because they’re common in French cooking and I cling to anything that makes me feel French. So you can only imagine how excited I was to find this Thanksgiving recipe from Thomas Keller’s cookbook Ad Hoc at Home. If you’re feeling a little squashed- and potatoed-out this year, the bread pudding is a perfect savory Thanksgiving side alternative. And if you can’t imagine it this week with turkey, save it for the Christmas dinner table. I served it with roast beef tenderloin for my friend’s birthday and it was a huge hit. And despite the fancy chef’s name attached, it’s actually quite easy and fun to make.

Enjoy!

Heather

Leek Bread Pudding

  • 2 cups 1/2-inch-thick slices leeks (white and light green parts only)
  • Kosher salt
  • 4 tablespoons (2 ounces) unsalted butter
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 12 cups 1-inch cubes crustless Brioche (I used Challah)
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped chives
  • 1 teaspoon thyme leaves
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 cups whole milk
  • 3 cups heavy cream
  • Freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 cup shredded ComtĂ© or Emmentaler
  • About these ads

    3 Comments

    Filed under Fall, Heather Platt, In Season, Side, Thanksgiving, Uncategorized, Winter

    3 responses to “Countdown to Thanksgiving T-Minus 2 Days: Thomas Keller’s Leek Bread Pudding

    1. jo

      So how do you prepare this old Northern English dish ?

    2. Pingback: Eat, Drink, and Be Thankful: Thanksgiving Menu 2011 | Three More Big Bites

    3. Happy Thanksgiving to two of my favorite cooks!
      XXOO CE PS: and YUM for your TKG recipes!

    Leave a Reply

    